29 Comments
Nov 25, 2022Liked by John Birmingham

This is very timely for me. Sadly on Wednesday we had to put one of our dogs to sleep. He was a brave good dog. We took him to the beach before the final visit to the vet. He was happy and even licked my hand. I was ok...until I got home and found he hasn't finished all his breakfast...I'm crying now thinking about it again. You will never have a more honest unconditional love than your pet has for you.

Expand full comment

So sad. You have my sympathy.

I decided after my last doggies, my Beastie Boys, two kelpie-cross brothers, left me for doggie heaven I wouldn't have any more pets. There's only so many heartbreaks to be endured.

Now I just live with the wild roos who look at me askance if I dare disturb their lawn-mowing or languid repose under the trampoline.

Expand full comment

A lot of humans don’t deserve them… I generally prefer the company of animals to humans! I certainly love being home on a Friday night with my cat! : )

Expand full comment

I'm a little teary. So sorry for your loss, JB.

Going to give my little furry friends an extra cuddle tonight.

Expand full comment

A wonderful tribute to a much loved family member. We keep engraved tags and collars for missed pets in a wooden bowl carved by Dad

Expand full comment

My heart hurts for Sally. We know that loss all to well. I lift my glass to you, good Stuart, and to Sally, too.

Expand full comment

Many dogs, as with children, don't deserve their adults-owners-parents. Super-sadly, is life

That's the hairiest Jack Russell I've ever seen

chrism

Expand full comment

Sorry, it's such a loss. We named our Husky Hachi, after the Akira that waited at the station for his owner to come home for nine years after he died. Agree we should bear that pain, not them.

Expand full comment

Far & away the best people.

Expand full comment

It's hard to lose a pet. But the loss of a dog has always hit me the hardest. I will drink a toast to all the pets lost this year - including my own dear Jasper, the German Shedder. Condolances to Sally for her loss.

Expand full comment

Here's the other side of the coin.

A woman let's her dog starve to death because she wants to buy cigarettes instead of feeding it.

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-11-25/sa-woman-jailed-for-starving-dog-to-death/101700066

We lost a dog to cancer this year. She was only seven. I can appreciate how people lavish kindness on their animals and then you read something like this and you end up hating humans.

One reason why I've been a vegetarian for the last 60 years.

Expand full comment

The goodest of boys

Expand full comment

I have a foxie (Max) who is 12yo and has lost a bunch of teeth but he is my constant companion, not sure who will go first but I hope it is me.

Expand full comment

Well said.

Expand full comment

They come and go too quickly from our lives. I dread the day this happens to my darling doggoes.

Feeling your loss and for Sally too.

Expand full comment

Oh, it's hard. They give so much. Goodness, kindness, happiness - the list is long.

And if we've given them just some of that in return, at the end of their much shorter lives they get us to think about mortality, which I think is another great gift, one beyond words really.

Expand full comment

This really gets to me. My old girl is over 15 now with her fair share of health issues. Although she is slowing down, she still loves life and really comes alive when we can get to the beach. I know THAT day is coming but with all my heart I want it to never come.

Expand full comment

Goddamn dust in the air again. To all our furry friends.

Expand full comment

I'm not crying, you're crying! Yes a toast to our beautiful furry friends. Both those in our memories and those still on our couches, laps, backyards etc.

Expand full comment

It's always hard to let them go.

Expand full comment

Just on The Drum - a discussion of pets - each panellist with photos and/or stories of their pets - dogs especially. Cats, too. I'm house-sitting in Canberra looking after two Siamese - very intelligent, Olympic order twists and leaps - and games with toys. Years since my wife and I had pets but they were important to us through our years of childlessness.

Expand full comment

Both our doggies met their fates at a time of our choosing when their love of life was gone. Jade last Christmas, and Kransky in Easter. We have their collars on our sideboard and their photos on the fridge. We still find their hair from time to time, even though we’ve moved house.

Expand full comment

I'm sorry to hear about Stuart. May he rest in peace.

Expand full comment

Lovely John. I will raise a glass to Stuart (the right Stuart) this evening while contmplating my own happy doggos and mortality.

Expand full comment

We grieve because we love. Makes it all worthwhile. Lovely tribute.

Expand full comment

Not the column I expected, but the column I needed. Thanks JB, I'm just off to see about this lump in my throat...

Expand full comment

Best mate you can have…

Expand full comment

Beautiful

Expand full comment