80 Comments
Dec 21, 2022Liked by John Birmingham

Thankyou for giving a shit, John. And for educating me on things I might've otherwise compartmentalised or straight avoided. You've become part of my life because a friend found you so insanely fressssssh that she made me subscribe. And now, when I come across things you have referenced, instead of flinching, I can conjure up one of the many fabulous swearwords you've gifted us all. One instance was at Brisbane airport yesterday. A murderous looking bloke with big words on his T-shirt: I'm not unvaccinated, I'm a pure blood.

Thank you for being part of the mesh of good people around us (online and in person), that gets us through times when we need to be tolerant of fuckknuckles.

You deserve extra of everything this festival season.

Mwah!

Expand full comment
Dec 21, 2022Liked by John Birmingham

When all else fails fried spam n eggs is near heaven.

A dash of chilli to you all🎉

Expand full comment
Dec 21, 2022Liked by John Birmingham

Felicitations! I've long abandoned the Christmas and New Year FOMO, my entire plans are limited to a case of Reschs, handful of prawns and wet feet.

Expand full comment

And a happy Festival to you Mr B. The missus always knows when I’m reading your musings when I snarfle and snortle unbidden. Looking forward to blowing some more coffee out through my nose in 2023. Have a well deserved break.

Expand full comment
Dec 21, 2022Liked by John Birmingham

Happy Sol Invictus to one and all. May Krampus bless your enemies with his demonic, vengeful presence.

Expand full comment
Dec 21, 2022Liked by John Birmingham

My wife and I have been giving Christmas cards for a long time, to our adult rellies, and toys for the kiddilies, from a scheme originating with the Salvo's. Each card acts as a receipt for twenty bucks, each one stating that you have provided a homeless person with meal, or a bed for the night etc. Of course there's a fiscal motive, in that they can claim a Christmas card on their tax! A tax loophole that not even the Delaware boy's accountants had thought of, not that they would stoop help the poor and powerless anyway., Plus it means we don't have to elbow our way through Westfield to buy some baubles or trinkets that give us an overdraft.

We are not religiously inclined, we just think that our money should go to those whose hand of cards, that they were dealt, won't scoop the pot in the middle of the table, and not the shareholders of the mega corporations, the've got too much of our money already.

This idea of altruism threads its way through time itself. From the Magi, to medieval times, even the villagers, and the laird of the manor, gave food to the peons and serfs, to tide them through the winter months, a selfless gift if ever their's one. The cynical might say that this generous act is admirable, but in reality they need someone to plant the seeds and harvest the crops in the spring.

Humanity is a beast wrought with contradictions, but in the end we bring joy, and a sense of hope to all strata of society at this time of year.

JB your missives give us pause to muse on aspects of life, that would otherwise have escaped our daily drudge, it certainly does to mine.

As Boggy said,"play it (again) Sam", I hope you do too in the new year JB.

Now what did I do with that bottle of Gordons?

Expand full comment
Dec 21, 2022Liked by John Birmingham

I hope you can have a good, relaxing Christmas and wind down properly. I don't miss Brisbane humidity or toxic family gatherings but Melbourne is blessedly free of both. There'll be craft beers, single malts and much hilarity. And ham. Always ham.

Expand full comment
Dec 21, 2022Liked by John Birmingham

Have a good break! Take 2 weeks if it results in better swear words :) (take as long as you like - I'm not your mum...)

Expand full comment
Dec 21, 2022Liked by John Birmingham

Merry Christmas JB. Love your work, but you deserve a break. See you in the new year. I'll be toasting you with a large glass of Macallan... several large glasses. It's the only thing that gets me through Christmas. xxx

Expand full comment
Dec 21, 2022Liked by John Birmingham

Thanks John. Good to know there have been worse Xmasses than the one I had as a kid when I got a second hand soccer ball. But I still look back fondly...can't bear to look ahead.

Thanks for the rants and new swear words. Looking forward to more in 2023.

Enjoy the break.

Expand full comment

Hope you get some crunchy roast potatoes, the one Xmas tradition I cling onto no matter what

Expand full comment
Dec 21, 2022Liked by John Birmingham

One of my clearer memories of a fundamentalist Protestant upbringing childhood was that (a) that Christmas got the full pagan festival analysis from the pastor at the nearest Sabbath sermon beforehand, and (b) that my otherwise duped mother filled our pillowcases (not stockings - only good for holding gold sovereigns) with all the things that the other mystery of Christmas, Santa Claus, could bring to little boys. While departing that mad "faith" - no room for symbolism or metaphor - I sat in St Mary's Cathedral in Sydney beneath the august figure of Cardinal Sir Norman Thomas Gilroy then around my age now - though I was just 18 then - checking out the opposition I was - a fairly reasonable Christmas Day sermon as I recall. But of the kind of Christmas you recall, John - nothing! How well you described it all, though. Merry Festive Greetings to you and yours and to all your gang here on this site!

Expand full comment
Dec 21, 2022Liked by John Birmingham

Enjoy the break.

Merry Xmas, ya filthy animal.

Expand full comment
Dec 21, 2022Liked by John Birmingham

Thanks for all of your words, John. Chosen impeccably, arranged masterfully and invented with absolute gusto. Always.

As I get older, I can't tell if the events of an average earth year are getting more gruesome or if I'm just more aware/informed/soft.

2022 has hit me right in the feelings for reasons both macro and micro, and your lens has helped my modern-man-fool thought-process processing.

Raised involuntary Catholic, my athiest self likes my family too much to not observe Christmas with them and their odd rituals. I resent this period every year for forcing false deadlines and focussing us all on buying shit when no such shit is needed. Luckily I love Boxing Day, for its collective hangover vibes and unabashed cricket glancing.

And maybe also because it means Christmas is over... for another earth year.

Expand full comment
Dec 21, 2022Liked by John Birmingham

Thanks for an awesome year of Friday feeds. Feels like being part of a another family as highly intelligent and yet dysfunctional as my real family! 😃You are like my super witty and smart big brother. Have an amazing break.

Expand full comment

Happy Christmas JB. You have shone the light during what for me has been a rather challenging year on many fronts.

Expand full comment
Dec 21, 2022Liked by John Birmingham

Have a great break, John

I realise it's been several years in a row when at this time I'm wishing the month would just fast forward so the new, far better, year would start. Here's hoping that 2023 is the first of an incredibly long run of years we finally get right.

Expand full comment
Dec 21, 2022Liked by John Birmingham

Always.

Merry Xmas mate

Expand full comment
Dec 21, 2022Liked by John Birmingham

Thanks for another year of laugh-out-loud wit mixed with insight, Birmo. Very glad to have found your little corner of the electronsphere.

And Happy Hyperconsumption Holiday to all! I hope you're able to enjoy a pleasant and relaxed time with your families and significant others. I'm not big on Xmas, but my partner loves it, so I will get in the spirit for her. See you all next year.

Expand full comment
Dec 21, 2022Liked by John Birmingham

Can't manage well-expressed just now, but genuinely appreciate all you write. Both this blog and your books are enjoyed, each in their own way, and great pleasure to read. Thank you John.

Expand full comment
Dec 21, 2022·edited Dec 21, 2022Liked by John Birmingham

Merry Everything, Birmo. Back in the day, (late 80's early 90's) there was a thing called ShareWare and PostcardWare, where people wrote software and included in the code their postal address, and said send me money or a postcard if you can afford it. As a teenager I was deeply impressed by this, and managed to scavenge AUD, USD, GBP, Francs or Kroner from various people returning from holidays, and send it on in envelopes with a lot of hope the software writer had no moved addresses. I enjoy receiving my AuthorWare from you, and hope my spare AUD help fund the GPH bills, and thought I would relate this memory in the comments as a digitally updated form of Postcard. Cheers, Looking forward to 2023, Bart

Expand full comment
Dec 21, 2022Liked by John Birmingham

Go well, love JB. Love your stuff.

Expand full comment
Dec 21, 2022Liked by John Birmingham

Enjoy a well earned break Mr B…I’m gunna crack a few coldies and position my esky next to the chair and absorb the MCG test..”burp”

Expand full comment
Dec 21, 2022Liked by John Birmingham

Come the New Year,,,

Twitter will be run by Snoop Dog - I hope.

Merry Christmas!

Expand full comment
Dec 21, 2022Liked by John Birmingham

have a good break, & a healthier lunch. Can't wait for the new swear words!

Expand full comment
Dec 21, 2022Liked by John Birmingham

Yuletide salutations and thanks for all the incisive observations through the year, you old sword-swallower.

Expand full comment
Dec 21, 2022Liked by John Birmingham

John, you are a (near-) weekly pleasure to read.. Thank you

Expand full comment
Dec 21, 2022Liked by John Birmingham

Merry Christmas JB to, my first Christmas back here after years back in Liverpool but the Brissy heat here in Taringa! Humidity yuk! Have a great break, all the best from the original second lifer!

Expand full comment
Jan 1, 2023Liked by John Birmingham

Thank you for your fabulous musings. Have a healthy and happy 2023. We have treated ourselves to 2 x 3 month old male Maremma/Border Collie pups. They will keep us distracted from the doom and gloom of the news and healthy to boot.

Expand full comment
Dec 21, 2022Liked by John Birmingham

Merry Christmas and all that.

I hope the time out is outrageously good.

Roasted a tin of corned beef for Xmas once.

OK once it got a crust on it.

Expand full comment

Bestivus Christmas Ever to you and yours. And my fellow boobers or whatever we're called ha. Yeah, forgotten in my christmas joy delerium. Oh, burgers. We're like burgers. hmm. Cool.

Stream of conciousness writing. Great. *facepalm*

Enjoy, get plenty of cat naps all or dog naps or whatever. Good god this political correctness is a bit bothersome aint it.

Redo from start.

Bestivus Christmas Ever to my fellow readers, you and yours.

Enjoy some cat naps (god knows I will) and this cool cartoon (by Dr Kim Lam) I just saw on the ABC email subscription.

https://www.abc.net.au/everyday/conversations-with-animals-cat-nap/101260472?utm_campaign=abc_everyday&utm_content=link&utm_medium=content_shared&utm_source=abc_everyday

Expand full comment

Merry Festivus! Long live the past sell by anonymous pink meat. I had a very similar xmas season to your anecdote.....except I did find a bottle of (2litres!!) execrable cooking sherry in the back of the otherwise deserted pantry...score!

Expand full comment

Merry Christmas John - your articles have been an absolute joy to read. Can't wait for the next year of new swear words. If I was richer and my rent hadn't just gone up $40 bucks a week I would buy you a beer, but for now just know its the thought that counts. Cheers Alien Sideboob - stay safe and have fun :)

Expand full comment

How would Red Mesh Singlet Guy navigate modern Brisbane? Surely an origins graphic novel is in the works. The hero we need.

Expand full comment

Happy Christmas to you and yours, JB, as I sit here on a rocking chair binge-reading Designated Targets. This is a rare break on my now traditional whirlwind interstate road trip of visiting family. I hope you have a restful break and look forward to more words of yours in the new year. Peace!

Expand full comment

Merry (fill in the blank) everyone. I've enjoyed my tenure here. I'll share a couple of sentences about one of my sweetest childhood Christmas celebrations, JB has inspired me. My dad was mysteriously absent for a while, and then when he got back we started eating these grey, uniform hamburger patties day in, day out. On Christmas morning, I got a 99 cent bag of plastic Army men. And then we ate hamburger patty transformed into a meatloaf. With real ketchup.

It wasn't until I was in my thirties that someone told me dad had been in jail that December, and the hamburger patties were from a McDonald's truck wreck he had witnessed (he was a truck driver, too). He grabbed one of the scattered boxes of frozen patties from the highway, and that's what we ate.

Expand full comment

Cheers JB – have a great Christmas!

Expand full comment

Gary Grimble and many thanks for another year's experience of nouvelle word-sharing. When will Macquarie Dictionary cotton on!

Expand full comment

I'm in transit to a family Christmas right as I write. We gather every four years. There are so many of us we use sport life and rec camps, usually near Lennox Head. Mid this year the relevant body cancelled our booking because people who lost their homes in the floods are now living in the camp. Well, can't complain about losing a booking when those poor sods have lost their homes. So now we're going to some place near Tamworth. Different, and hopefully not as humid as the proposed alternative on the Sunshine Coast.

Have a good one, John, and a better up-coming year. Looking forward to reading you again.

Expand full comment

“the incel stick insect on the register looked directly at me deep into my tortured soul and said, “Don’t worry mate. She’s not worth it.”” 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂 Merry Christmas John and thanks for all the laughs

Expand full comment

Merry Xmas and see you in the New Year as we slide into oblivion, like the compactor scene in Star Wars played at 25% speed.

PS: Was great to meet in person at that nerdy writer thing in Canberra (I think Oldy owes me a drink too)

Expand full comment

Happy Feet Up to you and yours!

(So incredibly different to a knees up …)

Very low key this year for us, the grandkids are interstate and us grown ups are past the joy of it all.

Thank you for entertaining us this year … and see you on the flip side.

Expand full comment

JB, thank you for making me laugh out loud- every time!

Expand full comment

“then around my age now - though I was just 18 then “ when the comments are entertaining too. merry christmas and thanks for all the words .

Expand full comment

Thanks for the year. Park your arse in the pool with frosty drink in hand and nibble on crackling.

Expand full comment

horror swamp of murderous heat and testicle-soup humidity.

Thank you

I didn't know how to put into words several Xmas on the Nth Coast of NSW.

Expand full comment

Slimy meat and dry bread is not a very christmasy combo, nor are gut wrenching break-ups that propel us into a state of barely existing beyond the exertion involved in natural bodily functions (see my 2021 Christmas). T’is the week before Christmas and I’ve been wholly sucker-punched by the combination of last minute urgent work demands and emails from the rental agency demanding to know my lease renewal plans (so they can presumably increase my rent, yet again, to more than half my weekly income…at this point, I feel like I only work to pay off my landlord’s mortgage). Hopefully - if I can pull my finger out, get over the 2020-22 trauma, get a new passport and make some plans - I might even get out of this hellhole of a country to experience something more exciting than an unexpected bus delay, or the surprise of mouldy tofu when I open the packet to cook my stir fry.

You, my friend, are a treasure, and someone who pulls us out of our everyday malaise to laugh, scoff, concur, and muse on your words. There is a camaraderie between Birmo Boobers where we share a particular sense of irreverent humour, and you, kind sir, are our bra; always there, always supportive, and nice to look at. I wish you and your family (including the furry members) a merry Christmas xxxx

Expand full comment

Happy Joyous Quasi-religious Festival

Expand full comment

For many years, Christmas was a quiet lunch with me and Dad. I'd catch the last plane to Cairns on Christmas Eve, get a taxi from the airport and disturb Dad from his slumber in front of a concert DVD. Ham and eggs for brekky, prawns, cold roast turkey and ham for lunch. Fend for yourself after that. Christmas 2019 my sister brought Dad's only grandchild - all of 11 months old - back to Australia to meet Grandad so we had the big family Christmas. Then the plague struck. I quite enjoyed my 2020 lockdown Christmas of cheese on toast in front of a DVD marathon (three forbidden pleasures). Then Dad died so Christmas 2021 was a repeat of 2020 - preferable to the many kind invitations. This year will be the full chaos of an extended family Christmas - gawd help me. See how I go.

Expand full comment

Thanks for another year of your insights into the non-stop crazy. Appreciate you sticking with us JB. Enjoy a Balvenie or two, some chrissy cake, left out for Santa Christmas morning.

Expand full comment