136 Comments

A bit late to the party. I liked the long form, it had that Doctorowesque flavour of rage mixed with forensic attention to detail. A few more would be great but a mix is nice too - I wouldn’t always have time to read a long form on the spot when opening an email, so having one to savour over a brew later on is a desirable notion. Maybe save them for the issues that are less immediate than the usual quotidian shitfuckery. A wee treat from time to time.

Expand full comment

Yeah, the occasional longer essay is good. If something needs saying, do it. You say it well.

Expand full comment

Long yarns good. I get a sense that while the usual shitfuckery from the Prophet From The Shire is fuel for you, certain abuses bring out that extra inspiration... ah, the Prudences. More long form and a little less- if it must be so- of the ranting is a compromise I'm prepared to accept and even pay for.

Expand full comment

I think it’s clear from the scale of this comments feed that we want both! Any any combination/frequency that comes to you will be loved. It’s wonderful to find a corner of the Internet where one’s pathological hatred of Facebook can be nurtured! Thank you John.

Expand full comment

Hi John. I didn’t receive that piece (paid subscriber) and did a re-check of my emails with no luck. I’ll try and find it and have a read!

Expand full comment

I like longform. Emotive rants are great, but I prefer the longer pieces.

Expand full comment

Good journalism takes time and effort. I appreciated it thanks. I subscribe to this and the Guardian because I can get a healthy dose of information washed down with some art and my kind of humor. Occasionally someone serves up some beauty and kindness as well.

The artist Ms NN Yunipingu passed this week. She survived a water buffalo attack and went on to win art awards by painting the experience. A spirited, kind, fun lady of immense talent. Daughter of Mungurrawuy and a giant of Yolngu culture in her own right.

Expand full comment

HI JB, I haven't read all the comments, but agree with general feeling I get from reading a few. When a topic stirs you to the point of wanting to do the research and write a more thinky piece, say quarterly, quite happy to wait, but also like the regular short, sometimes quite vulgar to my sensitivities, pieces. But you do what ever you want, and take my money.

Expand full comment

Bring it on, JB …

Expand full comment

Can't imagine anyone saying "no thanks". So "yes, please" to these. But John, it's a matter of your capacity and a suitable subject, and timing too. Whatever long form yarns you can manage will be greatly appreciated. Carry on ...

Expand full comment

Loved it John - the more the better. Your take almost always nails things and, given we live in an age where we are constantly lied to, long form analysis is a more than useful addition to short form taking the piss.

Hope you're doing OK and keeping safe.

Expand full comment

Short version: yes.

Less short version: yes: came for the swears, stayed for the thoughtful discussion ideas enjoyably wrapped in robust coating.

For what it's worth, I thought your blog on subs was the most useful thing I had seen, in terms of cutting through the spin on all sides.

Expand full comment

JB I get great enjoyment and satisfaction from reading all your material. I understand the pressure on writers to earn enough to not only put food on the table, but also enjoy other things in life. I suggest you mix it up, a bit of ranting, no a lot actually that’s what gets my juices going. Some more thoughtful stuff. The main thing for me is I will read whatever you write because you are so fucking well enjoyable. I suppose the main thing for me is that you stay true to yourself and keep this weird shit coming without compromising your health or sanity. Love yer guts Birmo

Expand full comment

I really enjoy reading your view on the world, whether it's dogs looking after broken vets, soapy titwanks or that Facebook are obnoxious runts.

You do you JB, just look after yourself.

Jono

Expand full comment

Another vote for the long form essay. Without sounding like Craig Kelly or anyone from Byron shire or the Fraser Coast, being able to do my own research and form my views by reading someone elses research and the views they express is a really efficient way for me to form and funnel my gen x/boomer cusp outrage at the world. If you could just do one on the best craft beer and stone fired pizza options at Slipstream brewery, it will save me a lot of personal research effort, kg's, $, hangovers etc familiarising myself with a local landmark..... actually, cancel that request.... some jobs are worth doing yourself.

Expand full comment

I loved the longer piece. Not everything needs to be short and sweary. And also, I agree with Mattc -I too am thoroughly enjoying and subscription.Do whatever you like.

Expand full comment

Loved that love long form. Thoroughly enjoying the subscription. Do whatever you like.

Expand full comment

Yes, more longer pieces, please - I found that piece really interesting and learnt a lot from it. I already know our PM is a soapy titwank (thanks climate change student with brilliant sign), so while cathartic to read sweary stuff, it's good to learn something new...if also somewhat demoralizing...

Expand full comment

Yes please.

I really enjoyed it, more so than the shorter, swearer pieces.

The only thing I would enjoy more would be pieces on what-we-can-do-about-it. E.g. Facebook is terrible, what can you do about it? Australian politics is absolutely cooked, well how could we do it better? What would that look like? How would we get there?

It's one thing to complain about life (quite rightly in most cases) and another thing to present a better version of life we actual actionable ways to get there.

my 2c.

Expand full comment

JB, It scared the bejesus out of me. I've been having these discussions for a while on deaf ears in my circle but your article made it compelling and clear. Please do more. If that means a few less sweaty bon bons, then it's a good trade off.

Expand full comment

I liked it. A lot. Maybe a JB's quarterly essay as well as the sweaty shotgun blasts we all love.

Expand full comment

I’d like to see a few of the longer ones, but like everyone else I am kinda hooked on the sweary ranting of the shorter ones too. One thing I’d ask- keep us posted on how long you’ll be off lining to do the bigger ones? It helps manage withdrawals when you don’t post 😀

Expand full comment

Give it some length

Expand full comment

I would go for a combination of the two. Longer essays maybe once every 3 months to celebrate seasonal change OR when something big happens. GB & ICAC for example. I heard a little twitter today that DP might be dragged into it in relation to grants allocated to gun club. So corruption at a state level automatically qualifies you for a seat at the Federal table it would appear.

Expand full comment

Hi JB, it was an excellent piece, so yes. Very informative, appropriately dark and despite the grim subject, it was a welcome change from the capers of Scat Moribund's crooked carnival.

Expand full comment

Dear John, 2 weeks research and 2 days writing, mmm. As I pause briefly on writing a section 42 hearing report to accompany the section 32AA Evaluation of the original section 32 Evaluation for Plan Change 54, let me congratulate you. you have moved my vague discomfort with being on Faffbook to an active self loathing. Keep up the fight, interspersed with your happy japes about Bonerby and chums. While I know you play to a national, international audience, it seems to me that dear little Queensland is probably doing something obscene to itself with a piece of coal in a shady corner. Maybe you could occasionally give the Premiers a good once over. Cheers Gav

Expand full comment

Enjoyed the longer Essay greatly. I used the Facebook essay to turn a number of friends away from the site. Perhaps you could shorten the issues deserving sweary rants into a weekly "dot point" presentation?

Expand full comment

Both. Love the long pieces when a certain issue deserves it, as decided by you, and the sweary, ranty pieces to keep the jollies up and discover new phrases to add to my commenting repertoire(always attributed).

Expand full comment

Yes please.

I like your longer pieces as much as your shorter, swearier pieces, if not more.

Expand full comment

Yes Yes Yes - I love the rants, but also very much appreciate the learned articles - let's face it, none of us want to read the filtered and distorted Murdoch crap, so wisdom nuggets from people such as yourself are very valued

Expand full comment

Love both options. You're the artist. You do you.

Expand full comment

Both! Short sweary rants to keep you limber, with weeks off when Deep Thought darkens your door.

Expand full comment

I LOVED that piece, John. It was perfect in every way. It's worth waiting for. Maybe pepper us with short thoughts that just come to you (on the toilet, say), aren't too taxing, and keep us occupied as we wait for the longer form genius.

Expand full comment

Love your work JB. Appreciate the larger piece and the time that takes, as disturbing as it truly is. Please keep us posted, we have enough to worry about.

Expand full comment

Write my brother. Short, long, sweary, whatever. You do you. I support that.

Expand full comment

"Should I do more stuff like that?"

Yes. It is interesting and informative. This essay also stands in counterpoint to politicians and others in the media who when focused on these platforms want to silence the critics using them or ensure that their billionaire backers aren’t losing out to the social media billionaires. Additionally, if you feel like making a change to how you approach this then you probably should; You can always return to sweary rants.

Expand full comment

Go long. We can wait.

Expand full comment

Personally, I think the points you make in your longer rants stick in my head longer, so may have a deeper imprint. But you can write more broadly if you stick to shorter pieces. If you're asking our preference in a 'value-for-money' sense, I say the occasional longer piece is a good balance. But I'm just a slavering fan so maybe you should do what feels comfortable for you, and that will produce the best writing?

Expand full comment

While a love a good sweary rant as much as the next person, I would love to see more like the Facebook essay. I appreciate all the work that went into it, and I find that sharing pieces like this helps make people more engaged without feeling like they're being lectured at.

Expand full comment

Love your little psycho-joycean pieces, but adore a longer, well researched argument even more. If it feels good, do it. I’ll still be here…

Expand full comment

If it's the best way for you to do a topic justice, then go for it.

Expand full comment

I would be happy to forgo the occasional weekly post in exchange for a longer piece, especially if that piece could be shopped somewhere else to spread the word and bring in some more cash, (I understand most authors can always use more). I am happy to pay the subscription to ASB because you are an old friend and it's part of my discretionary budget for supporting independent, not right-wing media in Oz. Surprising how small a minority that is.

Expand full comment

I thought it was terrific and I could see how much research you'd done. Really enjoyed it and I'd love to see some of this longer stuff interspersed with the shorter stuff. Thankyou.

Expand full comment

Just sayin' that essay popped up in my social media timeline to be shared, toot sweet, due to its searing perspicacity and right on-ness. More please! You say what us inarticulate sycophantic followers are incapable or unwilling to.

Expand full comment

Write on! And on and on...

Expand full comment

Absolutely loved the Facebook rant. I love being educated and informed but I admit it was in my "read later" basket until today's post so thanks for that too. Love the short stuff too.

Expand full comment

Do what you enjoy and are passionate about. That will be what we enjoy reading the most.

Expand full comment

I do like the occasional sweary rant, but I also like watching my writers toil away in the literary gulags for my pleasure.

You could also write something while under the influence of copious amounts of alcohol. That might be fun.

Expand full comment

I will read short and sweary, long and wanky - I mean well-researched.

Expand full comment

I like short and sweary, but will read a long article if and only if it's incredible. You don't need to sell me on the former.

Expand full comment